Comme des Garcons, Chloe and More…

Uncategorized

Alright so here is another round of Seat Crashing by me! It was a lot of fun, so here are some more pictures for you all to see. For anyone who didn’t read the first post, these were all taken during the year I lived in Paris in college, about 5 years ago. If you want to find out the tricks to getting in go here! It works you can tell by all my pictures.

This set is from Comme des Garcons, Rei Kawakubo is one of my favorite designers and I just love her. I got to meet her backstage after the show. She is a very shy lady and seems very grounded even with all her success in the fashion world. All of that is very odd to see in the Paris fashion industry which is overrun by men designers who seem to eat up the limelight. I would love to sit and have coffee with her and just talk about life and inspiration, I bet she is just fascinating. The show was extremely small and I got to sit on the front row. Some of the people that go to all the shows started to recognize me and would say Hi and wave to me when they saw me – it was very bizarre. I don’t know if they knew I was sneaking in or if they thought I must be important to be at all these shows. I just went with it and when someone talked with me I tried to steer the conversation away from who I was and onto ANYTHING else. So that is how I got into this show I was chatting with some guy as we walked in and they showed their invitation and I fumbled in my purse and then just sat next to him. Luckily we sat next to a few people he knew so he started chatting with them until the show started.

Another show I ended up getting into miraculously was Chloe. It was held in the Jardin de Tuileries and I got there a little late and could tell I wasn’t going to get in. There was a crowd of students trying to get in and a few late comers with actual invitations that the security wouldn’t let in. They said the show was starting and too bad. Once the show is about to start security gets a little lax and the guy wandered over to talk to another guard and one of those students pushed the barricade open, all I heard was the scrape of the gate on the ground and we just made a break for it. About 8 people made it in, I had been in this particular venue many times and the show had already started so I immediately just went along behind the bleachers of seating down to the beginning of the runway and took a seat there. It was a great spot.

Next up I have Hermes, I’m not a huge fan, I don’t even really like the Birkin bag. I will say that is someone came up and gave me one, I would probably love it and use it everyday, but I am just not the type to spend that kind of money on something like a purse. As I write that I realize I am not a fan of any of the big luxury brands especially ones that started as leather goods and then developed into clothing like Hermes, LV, Fendi, etc. I am much more a fan of design that pushes the boundaries of what we thought could be done and is a little more edgy and thought provoking. I prefer to have a gut reaction to something instead of a “oh that is nice” reaction. I am a huge fashion snob even though I live in jeans and tank tops. Anyway, I digress…here is Hermes.

I was actually liking the first 3 photos, but that last 3 are just so…blah.

Moving on…Junya Watanabe. Another favorite of mine, I believe he worked at Comme des Garcons with Rei Kawakubo and then left to launch his own line. He has a great following even though it is one of the smaller shows.

For some reason (and maybe I just made it up in my head) I was under the impression that some of the skirts are actually jackets with drawstrings placed and pulled strategically to create skirts. I have no idea if that is true, but it would be so cool if it was!!

Well I wanted to post more today, but it is already so late in the day I need to get this up. More to come tomorrow, I think all that is left is Lacroix, McQueen, Kenzo, YSL, LV, and a few shots from Galliano.

See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Comme des Garcons, Chloe and More…

Leave a Reply

