Inspiration Monday

Inspiration Mondays

I recently joined pinterest which is an interesting website. It’s kinda fun. You go around the internet and “pin” images you like and you create little contact sheets of all the things you find. It is great because it actually keeps the link of where you got it which is good news for someone like me with no memory. Also you can follow other boards and people can follow yours. Now all I have to do is remember to pin things as I see them.

What I don’t really dig on pinterest is that the inspiration boards you are creating are just like contact sheets, there is a thumbnail of your image and they are all in a 3×3 grid, I don’t find that kind of layout very appealing and I don’t like inspiration boards that are all “organized”. I like to mix my images together, cut them up and find a layout that is visually stimulating to me. That way every time I look at them I see something different and having the images mashed up together seems to give me more of a creative spark.

The problem with this is I have NO IDEA where any of the images came from. I buy a stack of magazines and rip them apart and just store all the images I found enticing in a folder or old boot box, then months (or years) later I go back to them and start to try to do a layout that speaks to me.

Here are the ones I created yesterday. I definitely lean toward the really dramatic, artful fashion mags that I can never remember the names of and might possibly never find again. I did find the cover of one of the mags in my stack of pages – AnOther – like another fashion magazine.

If you want to follow my pinterest it is http://pinterest.com/tracy_hiner/ my own inspiration boards are below.

Leave a Reply

