Art In the Streets

Inspiration Mondays

I went to the MOCA in downtown LA on Saturday to check out the “Art in the Streets” exhibit. I must say I was in love the moment I stepped inside. I love graffiti – even the most basic tagging, I am always drawn to it and am amazed at the larger pieces graffiti artists do. I don’t know how someone can do such detailed large scale work with just some cans of spray paint in the middle of the night hiding from police. I’ve always wanted to do it, but I am just not hard core enough. The installation was insane and way cooler than you would ever expect. It also included art from some of my favorites like Basquiat (not as much as I would have liked), Banksy, Shepard Fairey, and Miss Van. I went through the gift shop before I left and they were selling the paint markers that some people use for tagging. It is a little lame to buy your tagging supplies from the museum gift shop but super cool at the same time. It’s like saying go out and add your mark to the graffiti movement, it is a huge collective of artists and you can join at any time. I took a ton of pictures so enjoy. If you are in LA and haven’t gone to the exhibit it closes on the 8th and is free on Thursday from 5-8pm. So try to catch it before it closes!

From the moment you walk in you know you are about to see something special.

 

 

 

This is only the beginning! I will post more soon!

xoxo

 

 

 

One thought on “Art In the Streets

Leave a Reply

